Davetian, Benet

Benet Davetian

Benet Davetian

Ronsdale books by Benet Davetian:

  1. The Seventh Circle

Benet Davetian is the winner of the Mordecai Richler award for his remarkable collection of short stories The Seventh Circle (1996). His fiction draws on a wealth of experience gained while living and travelling in Western and Eastern Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Asia, and the United States. He is the recipient of various communications awards and fellowships, including the Telegram “Care” award for creative achievement.

For many years he lived in the St. Denis area of Montreal, where he was a Janovian therapist. He is now Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, University of Prince Edward Island. His most recent book is Civility: A Cultural History (2009).