Baxter, Jean Rae

Jean Rae Baxter

Ronsdale books by Jean Rae Baxter:

  1. Freedom Bound
  2. Broken Trail
  3. The Way Lies North
  4. The White Oneida
  5. Hope’s Journey


Jean Rae Baxter writes both for an adult general audience and for young adults. Freedom Bound is the third volume in a trilogy about the United Empire Loyalist experience, and won the Bronze Medal in the Moonbeam Awards. The Way Lies North (2007) won the Arts Hamilton Award for a young adult book and was nominated for the Red Maple and Stellar awards. Broken Trail won the Gold Medal in the Moonbeam Awards. Jean Rae Baxter sat on Lit Live Reading Series organizing committee for ten years and served on the Arts Hamilton’s Literary Advisory Committee for six years. Jean lives in Hamilton.

For more about Jean Rae Baxter and her books, visit her website at